Sarah Myers Ethnographic Methods 2/5/14

Female Body-Builder training will be exploring gym culture, meal plans, dietary supplements of a trainer and clean eating. The informant is a part of these aspects as well as advocating meal plans to others. Each is part of a daily routine. The informant has not participated in a body-building competition- this is someone in training. I recognize this will be a disadvantage because it means the culture is only a few years old to her. It is still developing. 

Bodybuilding is a small micro culture. It is part of the regularity of daily routines. A disadvantage, is that this seems to be more individualistic than social- the goals are the goals of the individual; there is a social aspect and it is seen in gym culture.  It is a current micro culture, open, and non translational. English is its folk language. I had trouble determining whether it was explicit or taciturn. It is explicit because the routines will be clearly defined. The workouts defined. But I also believe there may be a small part that is taciturn, and that is the nutrition part. Overall the dietary needs of bodybuilders may reflect one another but individual-to-individual they will vary, according to personal and professional goals. That also reflects back on an individual aspect of the culture. There is no strong belief politically…religiously… however- there is a strong belief in healthy eating.

This micro-culture is completely unknown to me. There is nothing dangerous or illegal here. It is not my social world. Healthy eating is great but I don’t like being told cheetohs are bad for me, so I will have some listening to do and keep an open mind. When I exercise I run outside- away from the mental image of gym guys on TV commercials that are jacked and slamming each other with protein shakes saying, “Is that all you can lift, Bro?” So do I know this culture? No. But sometimes I like to think I do- that will change after a first hand experience with an informant who paints a picture from the inside; I hope to find it will be more honest than any TV commercial. Then I can replace the fraudulent images in my head with real ones. For better or worse. That is my goal. 

Leave a Reply

